Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2012: Winners

Doreen Lawrence OBE and solicitor Imran Khan were both honoured for their contribution to justice at the 2012 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards.

Imran Khan, who has acted for Doreen and her family since two days after Stephen Lawrence’s murder in 1993, was presented with the award for Outstanding Achievement.

Doreen Lawrence, who has campaigned tirelessly for justice since her son’s death, was presented with the LALY 10th Anniversary Special Award.

The LALYs are a grassroots celebration of the work of publicly funded lawyers and are organised on a not-for-profit basis by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group.

Raj Chada, who acted for the Fortnum & Mason protestors and for ‘Jonnie Marbles’, the man who attacked Rupert Murdoch with a foam pie. Raj (from Hodge Jones & Allen) received the award for Criminal Defence.

Garden Court Chambers scooped two awards, with Leslie Thomas winning Legal Aid Barrister and Shu Shin Luh winning the award for Young Legal Aid Barrister.

Rosaleen Kilbane, who founded the highly-respected Birmingham-based firm Community Law Partnership, won the award for Social & Welfare law.

Jed Pennington, whose case led to the first finding by a UK court that detention at an immigration removal centre was a breach of Article 3 of the Human Rights Convention, received the award for Young Legal Aid Solicitor.

The full list of LALY 2012 winners is:

10th Anniversary Special Award: Doreen Lawrence OBE

Outstanding Achievement: Imran Khan (Imran Khan & Partners)

Criminal Defence: Raj Chada (Hodge Jones & Allen)

Legal Aid Firm/Not-for-Profit: Turpin & Miller

Family Legal Aid Lawyer: Rachel Horman (Watson Ramsbottom)

Mental Health: Mike Bishop (David Gray)

Social & Welfare: Rosaleen Kilbane (Community Law Partnership)

Immigration: Liz Barratt (Bindmans)

Legal Aid Barrister: Leslie Thomas (Garden Court)

Young Legal Aid Solicitor: Jed Pennington (Bhatt Murphy)

Young Legal Aid Barrister: Shu Shin Luh (Garden Court)


Search site

Log in