The Winners have been announced

for the LALY awards 2018

This year’s ceremony took place in Central London on 17 July 2018. We had 12 award categories, including a new award to recognise the exceptional work of those managing legal aid practices.  For more information see our press release.

Outstanding achievement
Sponsored by Matrix Chambers

Sir Andrew McFarlane

Criminal defence
Sponsored by DG Legal

Aika Stephenson

Just for Kids Law

Practice management
Sponsored by Accesspoint

Adam Makepeace

Tuckers Solicitors

Legal aid firm/Not-for-profit
Sponsored by The Law Society

Ealing Law Centre

Family (including mediation)
Sponsored by Resolution

Tony McGovern

Creighton & Partners

Legal aid barrister
Sponsored by The Bar Council

Martha Cover

Coram Chambers

Access to justice through I.T.
Sponsored by The Legal Education Foundation


Tuckers Solicitors

Legal aid newcomer
Sponsored through crowd funding

Lewis Kett

Duncan Lewis Solicitors

Public law
Sponsored by Irwin Mitchell

Harriet Wistrich

Birnberg Peirce

Social and welfare
Sponsored by Tikit

Sophie Freeman

Coram Children’s Legal Centre

Children’s rights
Sponsored by Anthony Gold

Dan Rosenberg

Simpson Millar

Housing law
Sponsored by Garden Court Chambers

Giles Peaker

Anthony Gold Solicitors

A very special thank you to all of our award sponsors (named above) and also to media sponsors Legal Action Group and additional sponsors Bidwell Henderson and TV Edwards. Thank you also to everyone who donated to our crowd funding campaign to support the Legal Aid Newcomer award.

Photo credits: Robert Aberman; Richard Gray/Rugfoot Industries

Full details of all the winners of the 2017 LALY awards are set out below.

The awards ceremony took place in London on Wednesday, 5 July 2017. The awards were presented by Baroness Doreen Lawrence and recognised the achievements of solicitors, barristers, caseworkers and teams delivering legal aid services.

Photo credits below: Richard Gray, Rugfoot Industries

The 2017 winners were:

Children’s Rights

Solange Valdez-Symonds
Solange Valdez-SymondsPRCBC/MRC

Sponsored by CILEx

Family Public

Sheila Donn
Sheila DonnPhilcox Grey Solicitors

Sponsored by Resolution

Legal Aid Barrister

Philip Rule
Philip RuleNo5 Chambers

Sponsored by The Bar Council

Public Law

Keith Lomax
Keith LomaxMinton Morrill Solicitors

Sponsored by Irwin Mitchell

Social & Welfare

Stuart Luke
Stuart LukeBhatia Best

Sponsored by Tikit

Criminal Defence

Graeme Hydari
Graeme HydariHodge Jones and Allen

Sponsored by DG Legal

Access to Justice through IT

AdvicenowLaw for Life

Immigration & Asylum

Kawek Beheshtizadeh
Kawek BeheshtizadehBarnes, Harrild & Dyer

Sponsored by Accesspoint

Family Private (inc Mediation)

Mary Shaw
Mary ShawDavid Gray Solicitors

Sponsored by Resolution

Legal Aid Firm / NfP Agency

The Community Law Partnership
The Community Law Partnership

Sponsored by The Law Society

Legal Aid Newcomer

Tom Royston
Tom RoystonGarden Court North

Outstanding Achievement

Sue James
Sue JamesHammersmith & Fulham Law Centre

Sponsored by Matrix

Many thanks to all our award sponsors, without whom the LALYs would not be possible!  Thank you also to our media partner, Legal Action Group, our trophy sponsors, Bidwell Henderson, and our programme sponsors, TV Edwards.

* As we did last year, the Legal Aid Newcomer award has been sponsored by Friends of LALY17


For an overview of the 2016 LALY awards ceremony, with details of the winners and finalists, see here.

For an overview of the 2015 LALY awards ceremony, with details of the winners and finalists, see here.